You can control the review privacy settings when you create a review.

By default, saved reviews are public and accompanying locations are private.

If you manually add a location tag to your public review by searching for a location name, the saved location is made public.

If a review is set to private, then any accompanying location is also set to private, regardless of whether you manually selected a location.